There are seven species of sea turtles, which are marine reptiles that need to breathe air to survive. Six of the seven species are found in the Atlantic and Pacific Sea. The flatback turtle is only found in the Western Indo-Pacific. Out of the 7 species of sea turtles that remain, 6 of them nest in Mexico.

Four of these species can be found in Quintana Roo – the leatherback turtle, the loggerhead turtle, the hawksbill turtle and the white turtle.

Unfortunately, all 7 species of Sea Turtles are endangered. This is due to illegal poaching and pollution. 

In Mexico, turtles are protected since 1990. Fishing, hunting, or poaching turtles is now a federal offense.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop